Hello Everyone,

After configuring a new Server, when we allow the RD Session for that server then it is limited to only one session.

Reason:- By default, an RD Session Host server is configured to restrict users to a single session.

Sometimes we might need to share the same domain account to create two different sessions at the same time. In my case I mostly need Administrator account, to accomplish CRM development task on time.😉

After some reading, I found out that there are basically two ways to achieve this: (depending on the Server working on)

1> Remote Desktop Session Host Configuration (Windows Server 2008 R2)

2> Group Policy Editor (Windows Server 2008 2012)


  • Remote Desktop Session Host Configuration: (When working with Windows Server 2008 R2)

Go to Start -> Administrative Tools -> Remote Desktop Services -> Remote Desktop Session Host Configuration

You will find, by default the setting for “Restrict each user to a single session” is set to Yes.

Double click on it and uncheck the setting for the same, click Apply and then Ok.

Once done, you will receive the following information:

After applying this you will be able to connect to your server with 2 different sessions.

But this option will not work as this tool is missing in Windows Server 2012. Still it can be achieved by Group Policy discussed below.


  • Group Policy Editor (Mostly Recommended and also when working on Windows Server 2012)

Open Run and type “gpedit.msc

This will open Local Group Policy Editor. Now move to

Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Remote Desktop Services\Remote Desktop Session Host\Connections

Double Click on “Restrict Remote Desktop Services users to a single Remote Desktop Services session

Disable the option and click “Apply”.


Note: The Group Policy setting will take precedence over the setting configured in Remote Desktop Session Host Configuration.


Default Behavior by Design:

When both the User connect to server then they will get a new session independently.

But suppose first user connects to the RD Session using account1 and gets a new session. Now the first user disconnects from the RD Session Host (leaving a disconnected session). While the first user’s session is disconnected, a second user connects to RD Session Host using account1. He now does not get a new session but is being reconnected to the other user’s disconnected session.

To avoid this users need to log-off and finish their session everytime they complete their part of work.


Hope this was informative and useful.

Thanks !!!